Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

How do I setup GRUB? - 9 Operating Systems - 1 Hard-Drive


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#13 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 29 January 2009 - 12:05 AM

Hahahaha, I will. But I would like some help!

I have learnt how to add a loopback to GRUB to the boot.ini, things left to learn;
  • How to add all 9 operating systems to GRUB
  • How to add a loopback to the GRUB menu from the BCD
  • How to update/upgrade GRUB to the latest version on Solaris and OpenSolaris

Thanks in advance for telling me how to do any of the above things,

Panarchy
  • 0

#14 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 29 January 2009 - 06:12 AM

To add the OS all you have to do it

title OS Name
root (hdX,Y)
chainloader +1

Or because you are going to have 9 OSes you need something else
  • 0

#15 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 30 January 2009 - 02:09 AM

Thanks.

Well is that the same for every OS I'm installing?

If not, what is different for the other ones (eg Solaris, OpenSolaris and FreeBSD will probably be different)?

Please reply

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy
  • 0

#16 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 30 January 2009 - 04:06 AM

Well, all you have to do is define the HD / Partition so just replace (hdX,Y). I don't know about solaris etc.. but I guess that they have their own bootloader (like windows etc...) and then once you boot from grub, I guess their bootloader will take care of the next steps... so most probably it will work for all OSes.. I'm not sure though, you might wanna test it...
  • 0

#17 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 30 January 2009 - 04:55 PM

Solaris has a modified version of GRUB that allows you to boot into a ZFS partition.
  • 0

#18 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 31 January 2009 - 04:29 AM

So I guess that modified grub will take care of it's self... for example I use the windows boot loader to boot to linux and it works this way

Windows Bootloader -> GRUB -> Sabayon

So, the windows bootloader will just boot the sabayon bootloader and than that will take care of the OS.. so in your case it will be

GRUB -> Whatever bootloader -> OS

So logically, I see no errors... plain and simple.
  • 0

#19 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 01 February 2009 - 07:32 PM

Hmm... okay, thanks... I guess.

Though I would still like my menu.lst written out BEFORE I start installing more than 1 operating system on my hard-drive. As I would like to burn a GRUB LiveCD with that menu.lst, in case of hard-drive failure.

Thanks in advance for the menu.lst,

Panarchy
  • 0

#20 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 02 February 2009 - 09:10 AM

I don't know if that would be possible, since you don't know the partitions etc...
  • 0

#21 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 02 February 2009 - 02:16 PM

TcM: I'll draw up another table/acronis mockup screenshot.
  • 0

#22 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 02 February 2009 - 05:51 PM

Hello

I finally finished creating it!

Here is my partitioning schema;

Posted Image

Please help me create my menu.lst, so that I can put it into a LiveCD/BootCD which will contain GRUB and allow me to boot into any partition on my 1TB hard-drive, in case something happens to my computer and I can't access the GRUB menu (e.g. Error 17).

Thanks in advance for any help given in creating my menu.lst,

Panarchy
  • 0

#23 Killy

Killy

    CC Lurker

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 February 2009 - 09:31 AM

Hey, how's that going! You have a similar setup to mine (except freebsd) so let me give you one piece of advice: If you dont want to chainload to the solaris grub, then install the solaris grub first and do the modifications there. If you've already installed linux, you can chainload to the solaris grub, it's not as elegant though.

Killy
  • 0

#24 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 09 February 2009 - 11:20 PM

Hey, how's that going! You have a similar setup to mine (except freebsd) so let me give you one piece of advice: If you dont want to chainload to the solaris grub, then install the solaris grub first and do the modifications there. If you've already installed linux, you can chainload to the solaris grub, it's not as elegant though.

Killy


Hi

I've only installed the first two operating systems. Been having a lot of trouble with Windows and logical partitions. Seems to be some trouble with the Boot-Manager.

I've been suggested install Windows Vista (or Windows 7) to a primary partition and edit that boot-manager using EasyBCD then add Solaris and OpenSolaris to the BCD. He said (the guy on the EasyBCD forum) that I can install Solaris and OpenSolaris on logical partitions as long as I have a boot-loader that can 'launch' them. He said BCD would work, and he thinks GRUB would as well. Also been told on another forum that GRUB4DOS should also work.

What are your thoughts on this?

Please reply!

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy
  • 0




Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download