Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Creating multiple Streamwriter from single SaveAs TextBox entry

streamwriter stream

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 shathway

shathway

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 October 2008 - 09:12 AM

I have a file that contains data from several companies. I would like to read the single file and then write it to separate company files. I use the SaveFile Dialog in my window to capture the directory path and the user assigned file name. Here is the code:

private void button2_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
if (saveFileDialog1.ShowDialog() == DialogResult.OK)
{
textBox2.Text = saveFileDialog1.FileName;
}
}

I am new to C# programming so I am uncertain what is captured. But I transfer that to a StreamWriter here:

FileStream NetSysstream = new FileStream(textBox2.Text, FileMode.Create);
StreamWriter NetSyswriter = new StreamWriter(NetSysstream);

What I would like to do is use the info in textBox2 to create two separate StreamWriters. The directory would be the same for both, but the name would have some text indicating the company (i.e. textBox2(Comp1) and textBox2(Comp2)). I would then create separate FileStreams and StreamWriters for each (i.e. Comp1NetSysstream & Comp1NetSyswriter and Comp2NetSysstream & Comp2NetSyswriter).

I have tried to modify the textBox2.Text by assigning it to a variable and then use that variable in the FileStream and FileWriter statements but that does not seem to work. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

#2 Xav

Xav

CC Mentor

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8356 posts

Posted 29 October 2008 - 10:12 AM

Use an OpenFileDialog to select the input file, then use a StreamReader to get the data inside the input file. Then just use a StreamWriter to write the information you need to a separate file.