Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

How do I update Dev-C++? GCC, MinGW & GDB need to be updated


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 24 October 2008 - 10:04 PM

Hello

After looking over Dev-C++ and having a look at the versions (The Dev-C++ Resource Site), I noticed the following;

GCC - Version 3.4.2 is included, where 4.3.2 is the latest version (interesting, same numbers are used!)

MinGW - Unsure of the version included, but the latest is: 5.1.4

GDB - Vesion 5.2.1 included, with 6.8 being the latest version.

Please tell me how to update Dev-C++ with the latest versions.

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy

PS: I have tried many other C++ IDEs, but Dev-C++ remains my favourite. I only wish to update/upgrade the Debugging/Compiling software used by Dev-C++. Wish will probably increase both speed & reliability. Also probably adding features.

PPS: Perhaps if I only updated the MinGW, it would do all the other updates/upgrades automatically. Still, I would wish to add it to the installer.
  • 0

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 25 October 2008 - 05:25 AM

Just install the latest versions of the relevant programs in the same folders they currently reside and you'll be good to go.
  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/


#3 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 25 October 2008 - 10:21 PM

Okay, thanks but... I would really like to update the installer itself, so that whenever I install it I can just click on one exe instead of 2.

Please tell me how to do this

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy
  • 0

#4 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 26 October 2008 - 02:21 PM

That would require creating a new installation package (there are several installer programs available ranging from free to far from it).
  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/


#5 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 30 October 2008 - 02:43 AM

Which do you recommend?
  • 0

#6 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 30 October 2008 - 08:27 AM

This one is free and works on Windows: NSIS
  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/


#7 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 01 November 2008 - 12:29 AM

Okay thanks.
  • 0

#8 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 12 November 2008 - 09:24 PM

Okay...

Now for the questions.

How do I put the registry items into NSIS?

Here are the registry entries;

Posted Image

Please tell me how to make it so that they will be installed there.

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy

Edited by WingedPanther, 13 November 2008 - 05:50 AM.
Double post

  • 0

#9 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 16 November 2008 - 04:15 PM

Hello

Sorry to say, but my question hasn't yet been answered...

Panarchy
  • 0

#10 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 16 November 2008 - 07:53 PM

It's possible no one on this forum has actually used NSIS. I would have to download the documentation and read it to determine how to set registry values with it.
  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/


#11 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 17 November 2008 - 04:07 AM

Oh... okay.

Might just do that.

Sorry, I thought this forum was full of software developers... so the logical conclusion to make is that they also know how to make installers.

Though they could be using different installation programs...

Panarchy

PS: sudo man NSIS
  • 0

#12 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 17 November 2008 - 08:59 AM

My company doesn't use NSIS, and I'm not actually responsible for configuring the installer. Many developers write code for strictly in-house use, so an installer isn't even relevant.
  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/





Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download