Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

html to CMS? Is this possible?

HTML

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 rosy0123

rosy0123

    CC Lurker

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 August 2008 - 05:05 AM

I have a tableless html site that is taking forever to update each page.
It would be easier if CMS could be used to add and update the site.
I don't want to change the layout of the site just have the ability to upload and change content.
Is this possible? What would be the best way of doing this?

Thanks
  • 0

#2 Guest_Jordan_*

Guest_Jordan_*
  • Guest

Posted 14 August 2008 - 05:20 PM

If you don't want to change the site look/feel you'd have to port your theme to whatever CMS you chose.
  • 0

#3 Xav

Xav

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8356 posts

Posted 16 August 2008 - 12:13 PM

Alternately you can use SSI. If you have a PHP server then:
require('content.php');

... might come in useful.
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#4 adserverexpert

adserverexpert

    CC Newcomer

  • Just Joined
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 19 September 2008 - 04:50 AM

ya it is possible only. do through smarty
  • 0

#5 Xav

Xav

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8356 posts

Posted 19 September 2008 - 07:45 AM

I'm sorry?
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#6 Orjan

Orjan

    CC Mentor

  • Moderator
  • 2918 posts
  • Location:Karlstad, Sweden
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Pascal
  • Learning:Java, C#

Posted 19 September 2008 - 08:13 AM

adserverexpert is referencing to the project Smarty that makes templates inbetween php and html as discussed in another thread in the php-forum.
  • 0

#7 Xav

Xav

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8356 posts

Posted 19 September 2008 - 08:14 AM

Oh, I see! I didn't understand the word Smarty.
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#8 John

John

    CC Mentor

  • Moderator
  • 4450 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 19 September 2008 - 11:18 PM

Smarty = Yucky
  • 0

#9 morefood2001

morefood2001

    CC Leader

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1011 posts

Posted 20 September 2008 - 07:46 AM

Smarty = Yucky


Stay away from smarty. It will be much more efficient (not to mention understandable) to use secure server includes in your case.
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#10 Guest_Jordan_*

Guest_Jordan_*
  • Guest

Posted 20 September 2008 - 10:25 AM

Smarty = Yucky


My encounters with Smarty have left a bad taste in my mouth but I haven't read/learned/used it enough to make any statements about its performance or otherwise. I will avoid it in the future though.

Posted via CodeCall Mobile
  • 0

#11 Xav

Xav

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8356 posts

Posted 21 September 2008 - 11:33 AM

Would you mind me asking what Smarty is?
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#12 morefood2001

morefood2001

    CC Leader

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1011 posts

Posted 21 September 2008 - 12:07 PM

smarty is a template system used in PHP. I learned from John last night that phpbb uses it.
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?





Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download