Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

HDD errors... help !


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#13 Turk4n

Turk4n

    ???

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1919 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Python, Bash
  • Learning:C++, C#, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Others

Posted 12 August 2008 - 09:56 AM

Well I have managed to recover data alone... I opened the hdd and look after some tuts on how to fix physical damaged hdds since it seemed damaged. I could luckily install dsl and recover minor things into my external hdd. But some data are still corrupt and bugs up and makes the hdd make nice clicking sound. I will check on alternative ways to fix before getting "professional" help.
  • 0

#14 Chewie

Chewie

    CC Leader

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1074 posts

Posted 18 August 2008 - 06:21 AM

Gratz.
  • 0

#!CrunchBang Linux ~$ apt-get into it | #!(Statler:R20101205): OpenBox | Like Linux?
“The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.”


#15 morefood2001

morefood2001

    CC Leader

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1011 posts

Posted 18 August 2008 - 07:26 AM

I usually experience a hard drive failure on an annual basis, I look for clicking mainly to tell if its going to die.

Normally right when I hear the clicking, I back all the data up to another location then swap the drive out. I have several drives around the house that I use to put data on and mail now because they were about ready to crash.
  • 0

#16 MeTh0Dz

MeTh0Dz

    CC Leader

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1726 posts

Posted 18 August 2008 - 11:00 AM

Lol the drive I'm currently using on my laptop is due to die any day now. You get about 20 seconds of clicking before it boots every time, lol.
  • 0

#17 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 19 August 2008 - 02:25 AM

My PC HDD started clicking like a year ago.. I continued using it, last month or so I ended up with a corrupted XP installation everyday, I had many programs showing errors of corrupted files etc..

I had to change it to a new one... at least I did not lose any important data... get a backup before it fails :D
  • 0

#18 MeTh0Dz

MeTh0Dz

    CC Leader

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1726 posts

Posted 19 August 2008 - 09:53 AM

Lol I don't ******* care, it's just a bunch of stuff I've coded. And the real big projects I've done are backed up on floppies and flash drives (yes I use floppies). So if it goes dead, I'll just lose some of my awesome uber leet trojans and virii, lol.
  • 0

#19 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 19 August 2008 - 10:16 AM

Ok.. I got it.. as long as you use floppies... you practically have no backups.

They are the most unreliable storage media.
  • 0

#20 MeTh0Dz

MeTh0Dz

    CC Leader

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1726 posts

Posted 19 August 2008 - 10:52 AM

Nah, floppies rock. And I said floppies anddddd flash drives. And actually if you take good care of your floppies they can be quite reliable.
  • 0

#21 Turk4n

Turk4n

    ???

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1919 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Python, Bash
  • Learning:C++, C#, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Others

Posted 22 August 2008 - 09:53 AM

Today I received my new hdds !
3.5 S-ATA II 10.3k rpm and my lappy hdd :3 I ordered them for 2 weeks ago and now I has them at last :)

P.S floppies rulez
  • 0

#22 morefood2001

morefood2001

    CC Leader

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1011 posts

Posted 22 August 2008 - 11:30 AM

I use floppy disks only when I absolutely have to lol. They don't hold enough information to back up even 1/100,000th of my smallest server lol.
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#23 Turk4n

Turk4n

    ???

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1919 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Python, Bash
  • Learning:C++, C#, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Others

Posted 23 August 2008 - 06:27 AM

Still floppies rulez :)
  • 1

#24 MeTh0Dz

MeTh0Dz

    CC Leader

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1726 posts

Posted 23 August 2008 - 01:28 PM

Why would you even consider backing up server data on a floppy? That is nonsensical.
  • 0




Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download