Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Adding bottom links with click-over feature? Help please!


  • Please log in to reply
98 replies to this topic

#13 Xav

Xav

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8356 posts

Posted 11 August 2008 - 09:25 AM

Not ıf you're usıng <style> tags.
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#14 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 11 August 2008 - 06:11 PM

hi

thanks for all this help.

I'll implement it when I get home today.

Thanks once again,

Panarchy
  • 0

#15 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 11 August 2008 - 11:51 PM

Not ıf you're usıng <style> tags.

I was adding to your example... you did not use <style> tags in here:

OK then. Here we go:

<ul id="nav">
<li>Item 1</li>
<li>Item 2</li>
<li>Item 3</li>
</ul>


That's the HTML, and then the CSS:

#nav li:link, #nav li:visited
{
color: white;
background-color: black;
}
#nav li:hover
{
color: yellow;
background-color: orange;
}

Untested, does ıt work?


  • 0

#16 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 12 August 2008 - 01:57 AM

Hello

I'll see what I can do.

Panarchy

PS: Here is a copy of my site files; ITtechnician.zip

Edited by Panarchy, 12 August 2008 - 03:18 AM.

  • 0

#17 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 12 August 2008 - 02:27 AM

Well it's not that complicated. Just create a file style.css and copy/paste this:
The CSS code Xav gave you. Then open the HTML file and in the <head> tags copy/paste the code I gave you and then copy/paste the HTML code Xav gave you somewhere in the <body> tags where you want them to appear.
  • 0

#18 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 12 August 2008 - 03:18 AM

Hello

Couldn't get it to work :(

Please help me fix it up.

The site files are included in my previous post.

Please use them and see if you can make this work.

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy

EDIT: Hadn't refreshed the page before posting, I'll give that a go now, thanks TcM
  • 0

#19 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 12 August 2008 - 03:26 AM

Hello

I've just tried that, putting the code in all sorts of different places all over the HTML file.

And I created the style.css file according to your instructions.

Yet it still fails to work the way I want it to.

It just goes right above the other links (in a list) and has no clickover capability.

Please help me get this right!

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy
  • 0

#20 Xav

Xav

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8356 posts

Posted 12 August 2008 - 09:20 AM

I was adding to your example... you did not use <style> tags in here:

I never specıfıed whether or not I was goıng to use a separate stylesheet or <style> tags. The CSS I descrıbed could have been put ın eıther.
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#21 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 13 August 2008 - 03:34 PM

Hi guys,

Ah... It still isn't working guys, so please help me out!

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy
  • 0

#22 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 16 August 2008 - 05:11 PM

Still needing help with this, so please help me out here!

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy
  • 0

#23 TcM

TcM

    CC Mentor

  • VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 17 August 2008 - 01:27 AM

I never specıfıed whether or not I was goıng to use a separate stylesheet or <style> tags. The CSS I descrıbed could have been put ın eıther.

Yes, but you did not use tags, so whatever.

Still needing help with this, so please help me out here!

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy


What is not working for you? It's very simple.
  • 0

#24 Panarchy

Panarchy

    CC Addict

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 17 August 2008 - 05:22 AM

That's right.

It isn't working for me.

Here's the link again: ITtechnician.zip

Please do what you can to make it work.

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy
  • 0




Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download