Recent Status Updates

• Photo
      16 Apr
    Kadence

If you're reading this, you're on my profile and I know you're on my profile because I'm probably viewing yours.

Show comments (6)
  • Photo
      10 Apr
    Poe

Finally (and hopefully) i'm getting a team together that knows a little of this and a little of that; and maybe all my open source projects that are half written can begin to be released. :)

View All Updates
Photo
- - - - -

How to get barcode reader to search Access Database

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 JamesN

JamesN

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 31 January 2008 - 10:17 AM

Hi,

Sorry if this is the wrong place..

I'm a beginner at vb.net and Access.
I'm using a barcode reader to scan in items, and then I want to search an access database and display the saved details on this item in the application.
I'm wondering if anyone can put me in the right direction,

What interface do I need the reader to be in: keyboard wedge/RS232?
Do I need a API to act in between the two: Reader and vb.net

Any help or advice would be great.

#2 Guest_Jordan_*

Guest_Jordan_*

Posted 31 January 2008 - 12:50 PM

All of the readers I have used simply scan and print the text wherever the cursor is. Your reader may be different but open notepad and scan something. Does the scanned text appear?

#3 Xantara

Xantara

CC Newcomer

• Just Joined
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 31 January 2008 - 01:04 PM

i'm confused...your title states "search access"....so..

What exactly are you trying to do? Are you scanning something with a barcode and then putting it in an access database and you want to know how to go from the scan to the database?

If this is the case, i may be able to help you

#4 JamesN

JamesN

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 31 January 2008 - 01:59 PM

Hi,

My scanner is working, it will scan the codes into notepad.