Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Looping until a user presses a key?

loop

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 mholt

mholt

CC Regular

• No Access
  • PipPipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 18 January 2008 - 03:23 PM

Hello,

(My question is bolded down below if you don't want to know my story.)

I'm fairly new to C++ and am learning it in my spare time. Recently it has become more of a priority since a few weeks ago when I decided to start taking security more seriously with my computer activities.

I started using TrueCrypt and have an encrypted portion set up on my flash drive.

Unfortunately, when I went to a public network and plugged it in, about 4 GB of files were maliciously deleted, even the encrypted portion (which is just a file, like any other file, it can be moved/deleted/etc).

This frustrates me, and I couldn't find a good, free, simple "file locker" to prevent deleting files. So I decided to write one. I noticed that some files which I had currently in use were not deleted until a minute or so after I closed them.

So I figured to write a program myself that I could run to "open" and "occupy" these files so they can't be deleted (since Windows won't really let you).

My program works like a charm. But now I also consider those "unlocker" apps which someone can use to close the stream between an open file and a process using that file.

I'd like to know how to get around an unlockers' capabilities. Now I know that using a task killer, or even the TASKKILL batch file command can simply stop my protection program from running. But there's just no way to get around that, I guess. I do have one idea, and I haven't found any others online about this matter by Google...