Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Selecting records with a condition

delphi records

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ashleysmithd

ashleysmithd

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 19 April 2007 - 01:56 PM

Hi.

Slightly amateur question here (I'm new to SQL)

In Delphi, in using the ODBC, I'm trying to bring up a list of records that contain a 'date + time' attribute, that are smaller than the current date.

And is there anyway to bring up separate attributes such as 'first name' and 'surname' that correspond to the record being shown?

Sorry for such a basic question, I've just started learning SQL, and need it to complete my coursework.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

#2 Guest_Jordan_*

Guest_Jordan_*

Posted 20 April 2007 - 05:44 AM

Hello,
Without knowing the table structure and the date/time format (is it Unix Timestamp?) it may look something like this:

SELECT tbl.firstname, tbl.surname
FROM tbl AS tbl
WHERE date < SYSDATE;

If you give me the table structure and more info (like what SQL client you are using - MySQL, Access, msSQL, etc.) I can help you further.

#3 ashleysmithd

ashleysmithd

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 20 April 2007 - 12:54 PM

Hello,
Without knowing the table structure and the date/time format (is it Unix Timestamp?) it may look something like this:

SELECT tbl.firstname, tbl.surname
FROM tbl AS tbl
WHERE date < SYSDATE;

If you give me the table structure and more info (like what SQL client you are using - MySQL, Access, msSQL, etc.) I can help you further.

Hi Jordan, thanks for the reply.

I'm using the ODBC feature in Delphi 5. I'm building the database into my software.

I built the database using Access, but exported it into a .DB format, a paradox database format if I can remember correctly.